Chennai PBL franchise sports new owner, name

PBL logo

NEW DELHI: There is a new owner and a change in name for the Chennai team in season five of the Premier Badminton League, which kicks off on January 20.

Vijay Prabhakaran, owner of the Chennai Smashers for the last four seasons, has exited the league and organisers SportzLive have announced R Sivakumar as the new owner of the team, which has been rechristened Chennai Superstarz.

“I started as a Tamil Nadu Badminton League owner in 2014, then began the Badminton Premier League the next year and then capped it up with Tamil Nadu State Badminton League (TNBSL) in June this year. And now the PBL. I had shown interest after TNBSL and PBL entrusted me with the job. I am thrilled,” Siva told The Hindu.

Siva said the team is balanced and strong with Tamil Nadu players in Sankar Muthusamy and K Sathish Kumar. He also revealed that he has requested the PBL Committee to have the opening ceremony in Chennai.