6 team North East Women’s Football League set for kick-off


NEW DELHI: The much-awaited North East Women’s Football League (NEWFL) is set to commence on Thursday, 7 July at the Sports Authority of India (SAI) Stadium in Imphal, Manipur. 

On 3 July, the final schedule of the league was released during a press conference here. 

The maiden season of NEWFL will have a total of 31 matches played between eight teams. The eight teams are – Manipur Sangais, Assam Rhinos, Meghalaya Leopards, Tripura Pythons, Arunachal Pradesh Tigers, Sikkim Pandas, Mizoram Black Bears, and Nagaland Wild Hogs.

“Promotion of sports should always be advocated across the country and in this line various sports events will be organized from time to time. Tournaments like the North East Women’s Football League is a major initiative and necessity for the young players, especially women sportspersons,” Amin Pathan, chairman of Anantpur Sports Event Private Limited, organisers of the tournament, stated.

“With seamless and dedicated practice and an attitude to never give up, one can reach any heights in the field of sports. While the sportspersons should keep practising to get better, we will ensure more such tournaments in the future to give the young players a platform to showcase their talents,” Pathan asserted.