IPL serves up gripping finale; Star goes wall-to-wall

Vivo IPL logo

MUMBAI: After a 50-day celebration of action-packed matches, VIVO IPL 2019 culminated Sunday with a finale that world cricket's biggest annual T20 event between Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings deserved at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad.

In what was a humdinger of a game with twists and turns galore, it was the Reliance owned team that claimed bragging rights in the end, taking home the glory of being Indian Premier League champions for the 4th time (from five finals).

MI win IPL 2019
Mumbai Indians defeated the Chennai Super Kings by the slimmest of margins – by 1 run – to be crowned VIVO IPL 2019 champions

Ultimately, Mumbai won because of their collective spirit; through twists and turns befitting the plot of a bestseller, the IPL final was decided off the last ball with spectators holding onto the edge of their seats and players chewing off their fingernails. Lasith Malinga turned hero from villain after conceding 20 runs in his previous over, trapping Shardul Thakur leg-before when Chennai Super Kings needed two runs of the last ball.

And host broadcaster Star Sports put on a show befitting of the finale with fans treated to a day full of cricketing action, as well as entertainment headlined by Bollywood superstar Salman Khan, bringing his charm to viewers ahead of the big game on Maruti Suzuki Cricket Live at 5:30 pm.

Khan, along with Bollywood diva Katrina Kaif went live from the Star Sports studio as part of pre-match and post-match shows.

Star Sports enhanced the viewing experience with over 100 commentators, 8 languages on all Star Sports Network channels. IPL related programming kicked off from 8am on Sunday with a series of day-long programming that finally culminated in the big clash between MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings and Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai Indians

Brief Scores
Mumbai Indians: 149-8 (Kieron Pollard 41*, Deepak Chahar 3-26) defeated
Chennai Super Kings: 148-7(Shane Watson 80, JaspritBumrah 2-14) by 1 run.

Player of the Final
Jasprit Bumrah, for his spell of 4-0-14-2.

Season Awards
Orange Cap: David Warner
Purple Cap: Imran Tahir
Most Valuable Player: Andre Russell
Emerging Player: Shubman Gill