MS makes it 3 wins in 7 finals leading CSK

vivo ipl

MUMBAI: Former Indian skipper MS Dhoni embellished his legend further as the best captain in the history of the Indian Premier League, leading the Chennai Super Kings to its third victory in seven appearances in the finals of world cricket's biggest annual tournament.

csk wins ipl 2018
Chennai Super Kings win 11th edition of the IPL at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium on Sunday. 

IPL is also the world’s wealthiest cricket tournament with a brand value of $3.8 billion.

The tournament concluded on a high note Sunday for Star Sports in its inaugural year as IPL host broadcaster when the champions, returning after a two-year suspension, beat Sunrisers Hyderabad for a total score of 181 in 111 balls in Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium. CSK have previously won the IPL in 2010 and 2011.

CSK took home Rs200 million as prize money while runners up Sunrisers Hyderabad won Rs 125 million.

Add the fact that Dhoni led the Rising Pune Supergiant to the finals last year, losing out narrowly to Reliance owned Mumbai Indians, India's Captain Cool has contested whopping eight finals in 11 seasons of the IPL.

As for Sunday's game, Shane Watson, the 36-year-old Australian all-rounder, propelled Chennai to its win as he scored an unbeaten 117 runs off 57 balls. 

Man of the Match: Shane Watson, for his unbeaten 117 (57 balls, 11 fours, 8 sixes)
Orange Cap: Kane Williamson (Sunrisers Hyderabad)
Purple Cap: Andrew Tye (Kings XI Punjab)
Emerging Player of the Season: Rishabh Pant (Delhi Daredevils)
Fair Play Award: Mumbai Indians
Most Valuable Player of the Season: Sunil Narine (Kolkata Knight Riders)